Writing Update: The Doors of Life

The strong fingers gripped me, pulling me deeper in. “No, I can’t stay here!” I thought, “I have a post to write, a kitchen to clean, a life to live!” I clenched my teeth, but failed to remove my eyes from the page. I was a captive within the lines, not free to be released until I found a way out at the end. I was powerless, unable, and unwilling to remove myself from this trap I’d foolishly stumbled into…

I had wanted to post my update yesterday, but as you might have guessed a certain book thought otherwise. Thankfully I finished and have returned… for now. The book was Chomp by Carl Hiaasen. It was quite a nice little adventure, featuring an animal wrangler and his son, a phony survivalist TV star, a girl with a past, and an array of other character I don’t want to give away. The author gives us a ride, hopping from place to place and bringing everything together in quite a dramatic climax. There is humor, tension, adventure, and danger. Lots of danger. While some might say the characters were a bit cardboard-ish, you will not soon forget them. Definitely a fun read, and fun for kids too.

As for my own writing, I must admit it’s been a little slack. Between getting the blog set up, and other life things, I haven’t gotten that much writing done. I’ve been revising my current novel, that for lack of a better name I’ve been calling BT. I’m about 30% through a bit of cleaning and tweaking. Then I will continued on and see how the heck I’m going to get them to the Fall Realm. To make sure I do not slack anymore, I am setting myself a goal to go through at least fourteen pages, and I will be held accountable for it next week.

 

And now… for the news.

As some of you may know I recently achieved the, for some reason, special  age of sixteen. Which means I am a step closer to adulthood, and a step further from my childhood. It feels odd because I still think of myself as a kid, all silly and crazy. It blows my mind that it’ll only be two years until I’m an adult, ugh, I feel old! I don’t think I can grow out of my craziness by then, and I probably never will!

Image

Although I will miss my childhood, it is interesting getting older. When I was young, I felt like I could do anything! In my own little world, I was queen. I had no idea how little and silly I looked sometimes, because in my mind I was as smart and big as ever.                               Now that I am older, I can look back and smile at myself, and at the way I though I was so grown up. I can also smile at other little kids I see, and all their silly antics. I can look down on them, not in a mean way mind you. But for one I am taller, and two because I remember what it was like. I never thought I would be sixteen so soon.

Another irreversible mile was gained on the way to Big Peopleville yesterday, when I received my driver’s licence. “Wait a minute!” I wanted to say, “Where’s the rewind button? or at least a pause? Is there a number to the TARDIS I can call?” At that moment the only car I wanted to drive was the DeLorean. I feel too young, too kid-ish still, but I know I can handle it.  After all, if I thought I could do anything when i was short, why not now?

The thing about life is that it has many doors. In my somewhat short existence so far, I’ve had doors open and shut on me before. But I’ve never had them open and close at the same time, like it happened today. I let go of a piece of my childhood, and at the same time set out on this brave new adventure. One that requires strength, courage, and responsibility. A very grown up thing to be sure.

For the first time in forever, I got in the car and drove myself, all on my own. It was only a couple of miles down the back roads to my morning job, but it was good enough for me. I rolled down the windows, turned on the radio and sang along. The song Happy came on, and it was just perfect. It was a beautiful day, a new adventure, and I couldn’t help but give thanks to God for all his love and wonder. And ask him not to let me crash and burn in a fiery death! Because no matter what, cars are kinda scary, and way too easy to kill yourself with.

Anyway, that’s enough rambling for now, I hope everyone has a wonderful day! If anyone would like to set a writing goal with me, just drop me a comment and we’ll see how we do next week.

Cheers!                                                                                                                                                                                                   A. M. Freeman

2 thoughts on “Writing Update: The Doors of Life

  1. Hay April!
    I wanted to say I’ve enjoyed your post! And I feel the same way you do about driving. I don’t know that I could put it in so many words like you did but I feel the same.
    Keep up the good work on your writing and I look forward to seeing more post from you!

Leave a Reply

