Writing Update: How Do You See Time?

Ah, time. It’s a funny thing isn’t it? I’ve been thinking about it a bit more than usual lately. Maybe it’s because my age is going to bump up another number soon, or that the main story I’m writing as a lot to do with time, or more specifically, breaking it.

Maybe another reason I’ve been thinking about it so much is because one of my dreams/goals was to get a book published before I turn 18. But soon that will be only another year away. And while I do have one thing I am ready and looking to get published, I don’t think I’ll quite make that dream.

But you know, that’s okay. Because, well, I should still have a lot of life left in me. And I’d rather take longer on something, than rush it and know it’s not as good as it could have been. But than again, I don’t want to take so long on something that I miss opportunities.

As long as I keep myself at a steady pace, and writing everyday, I should get somewhere. Because the thing about time is that it changes things. And, well, it takes time to change sometimes. Like when building an audience or a career, time and persistence are a big part of it.

Unless you’re an overnight sensation. But that is fleeting, and usually after a bit of flair you are forgotten by most. You’d have to work really hard to keep interest, otherwise you fade and everyone moves on to the next viral video.

Some can manage that, but if you look at most of the well know authors, or youtubers, or whomever, they’ve had to work up to where they are now. And if you look back at their older things they’d done or made, it may not be as good. But it takes time to learn, and over the years they get better.

Another thing with working your way up, is you don’t have as many eyes on you while you’re working out the bugs. But if you’re suddenly famous there’s a lot of pressure that comes with that, especially if you’re new at what you’re doing.

I’ve also been thinking of time in a much wider sense. One thing that bugs me is when someone is talking about some controversial or progressive topic, and they make a comment like, “Come on, this is 2015… blah blah blah” Or “I can’t believe in 2015… this or that is still going on.”

This earth has been around for quite sometime, and will probably still be around for a longer time still. So why is it that just because we happen live in the newest year, it somehow makes us or our culture special?

Our lives are like a breath in the wind. Of course we want to make this world better while we’re here, and leave something good for our descendants. But just because we’re in the present, does that somehow make us better than the people who came before us or the people who will follow? I don’t see how it does.

Time is a big thing, even mountains eventually tumble before it. Things flare up and fade so fast, especially with all the social media and instant technology we have now. Do you remember Silly bands? OrHeelys? No? Maybe? Things like those trends come and go so fast, and even one latches onto the next thing. But even the conventional or big topics we discuss today my fade into muddled history given enough time.See? Time is a very powerful thing. And also very sneaky since it moves so slow and changers so subtle.

Anyway that is my ramble for today, hope y’all enjoyed it. And let me know what you think about time. Keep writing and having fun!

5 thoughts on “Writing Update: How Do You See Time?

  1. What I think about time is like when I am having fun it ticks by so fast or like when I am at dance we start at 5:30 and it’s already 6:05 and I am like how fast can time tick very fast

  2. Some of the ‘classics’ even have gotten more popular with time. Some like The Princess Bride and was it Willy Wonk? They started out with very little fanfare and not much success but got huge as time went by and will be watched, read and remembered for years to come. Lots of books and artists, and even scientists have had their works discovered and appreciated years after they passed on. Hopefully that won’t be you, hopefully you will see the recognition of your work, but it would be cool to leave behind a legacy as well.
    Btw, descendants is how you spell what you were wanting when you wrote ‘decadence’ towards the end. 😉

    • Yes that is very true. While it would be nice to see some of the “fruits of your labors” so to speak while you are still living, it would be great to leave something that will stand the test of time and speak to more then just the people in this age. And all corrections appreciated. (P.S. when ever I hear the word descendants, I always think of Oggie!)

Leave a Reply

