Getting Past Writer’s Block

Have you ever had writers block? Do you believe there is such a thing?

I know some think it’s just an excuse to not write. Others may believe it’s a legit thing. Personally, I think it could go both ways. Sure there may be times where you’re stuck on something, but I don’t think that gives you an excuse to stop working on your writing.

I know of a couple of times when I was not quite sure where I was going next with my story. But I didn’t just sit back and wonder for a while. I still wrote, whether it be on other projects or on a different part of my current project, like on editing and cleaning.

Once when I was a little stuck and kind of wanting something more, I just made something in my story explode. Literally. However, that made the story and plot explode as well! I ended up with several more chapters, a few new characters, another explosion, and a whole  lot more plot! But in the end it was good for the story, and I’m glad I let it go that way.

Recently I discovered another way that works for me when I’m a little stuck in my story. Taking out a notebook and a pencil, I started just writing down loose ideas. This helped to get my creativity flowing, and I began creating and connecting more ideas. It only took a handful of minutes, and I had my next several scenes and the next turn of events loosely planned out.

Of course, as with everything in writing, there isn’t just one way to do it. Every writer is different. I’ve heard other suggestions like:

  • Go for a walk.
  • Change your environment.
  • Read a book.
  • Listen to music.
  • Do something to get your blood flowing.
  • Write, anything, just do a little creative writing.

If some of those work for you, than great! But if not then try something else, and don’t be afraid to get creative! Who knows, maybe cooking pasta helps you find that epiphany you were looking for. Just remember, the one thing you DON’T do is give up. Some way or another, you’ll find a way past that sticky part. Writing is not always easy, but in the end it’s worth it.

2 thoughts on “Getting Past Writer’s Block

Leave a Reply

