I Finished My First Novel!!!

I am currently sitting in a frozen yogurt place enjoying a delicious treat, and then going and getting myself some pizza! Why am I at these places getting myself treats you might ask? Well as you might have guessed from the title, I finished my first novel!!!!!

*Huge smile as I break into dance moves*

Now it’s true there’s still a LOT of work and editing to do, plus another two books to write before the story is done, but I’m so excited to finally get to an end!!

I started this story in the spring of 2013, intending to try to write a novel in three months for a contest. I didn’t finish in time for the contest, and the story kind of…. expanded… a LOT. Roughly two years later at 11:43, October 31 2015, the time I finished, my document stood at 185 pages, 95,352 words!

So, about two years to finish my first book, not terrible I’d say. Especially if you consider the several set backs, story loss, sticky parts to work through, and the tragic editing loss of summer of 2014. Also, since then I’ve improved and become more consistent in my writing. In the three or so days leading up its conclusion, I was writing 1,000+ words a day. This was the goal I had set with myself, and I was actually reaching it and the story was flowing nicely, it was great!

Now with that finally finished, I’ve got a plan…

I have another short story I’m going to start really working to get published. I’m going to start combing through and editing myself before giving it to someone else to edit as well. I’m trying to find someone to illustrate it, and I’m also doing a lot of research in publishing options, especially self publishing, if I should look for an agent, formatting, all the fun stuff that sometimes feels like it’s swallowing you whole.

Then, I want to start the next book at the first of the new year. Give myself the 1,000 words a day goal, and see if I can finish it in that year. I think it’ll give me an extra challenge and motivation! But if I want to start writing then, I have to know what exactly the story is doing next. I’ve got a very very very loose idea of what’s happening next, and I know where I want it to go. So while I’d doing all the other stuff with my smaller story, I have the next two months to start planning the next book.

I know it’s going to be a lot of work, but hey, I’m up for it! And after sometime of my writing dragging, I’m excited things are happening and rolling again!

So let more writing adventures, augments with fictional people, sleep deprived nights, and hair between clenched fingers, begin!!

 

5 thoughts on “I Finished My First Novel!!!

  1. Been a while since I’ve been ’round these parts, and this is great news to come back to. Congratulations! Now you’ve reached the hard part!

    • Haha I’m afraid you’re right. At least I’m letting that one sit for awhile while I write the next book and plot another novel for a class. *tip my hat* But nice to see you around again.

Leave a Reply

