Happy New Years 2016!!

Well it’s that time again, when an old year dies and a new one is born. It’s a time to start fresh, make changes to better yourself, and dedicate yourself to resolutions you’ll probably forget by the end of January.

untitledb

I wonder how this year will go… could be good, could be bad, you never really know. But I do know of some things to look forward to in the coming year. Like we’ll get a new president! And with me turning 18 in March (!!!! denial !!!! I’m going to be an “adult” !!! Whaaaat??) I’ll be able to vote for the first time. Also in 2016, if all goes well, I’ll be going into my first bit of college, which I’m super stoked for!

One thing I’ve noticed is that since the years have turned to two digits at the end (so starting in 2010) I have had really good years on the even numbers. 2010 was the year my sister was born. 2012 was the year of Call Me Maybe and Gangnam Style, and I remember having a really fun summer with my cousin. 2014 I got to travel a good bit. So if I am to trust this pattern, 2016 shall be a great year!

All the same, 2015 was a good year. I completed the first draft of my book! Yay! I believe I’ve learned a lot in this past year, grew up and matured a bit more I think. For one thing, I when through my first relationship, so that was a new experience. My mom made the comment the other day that she thinks my face has changed, grown a bit leaner. Perhaps that’s true. After all I remember on my 17th birthday in all the pictures I looked different, and shockingly like my mom. Other things I did in 2015 have been being in a musical, I went to my first prom, I finally got to wear a pancake tutu in a ballet dance, I was in a vintage fashion show, I lost a dog and gained a new one, once again was in the Nutcracker, got my Chica (my mustang I got as a filly 3 years ago) riding and working better, and of course finished my first draft of my first book!

So it was a pretty descent year. But after reading/skimming over all my journal entries from last year, (because I’m a loner who sits alone in her room with a puppy, listening to the Time Square party and reading over her life and having a bit of an existential crisis) I realized it was a really lousy year for my writing, and I had a lot of head aches…. Anyway, sure I finished my draft which is great! But I could have done a whole lot better.

But I’m not too distressed by this, because I think this past year had a different focus for me. I learned a lot and grew up in a way, got to experience something I never had before. I believe it came at just the right time too. And now this year I can focus on me and my writing, and all and any other great things coming this year!

In going along with trying to make this year better than last, I’m making a list of resolutions and goals. But first lets see how I did with last year’s goals….

2015 New Years Resolutions

  1. Write more

Yes, I think I’ve gotten a descent bit of writing done this year. Not nearly so much on this blog as last year, but I did finish the novel and a few short stories I think.

Success level: 6 out of 10

2. Find a publisher

Nope, not yet. But I have done research and have more of an idea of what I’m looking for and should do.

Success level: 3 out of 10

3. Improve my dancing and flexibility

I still don’t have my splits, and my hips and turn out still hate me. But I do believe I have improved over all. It’d be kind of hard not to when I’m in dance classes 8 hours a week!

Success level: 8 out of 10

4. Read more

Hmm, sure. I’ve read maybe 4 or 5 books this year and listened to several while driving. But I also read somewhat slow and like to use my time writing.

Success level: Meh out of 10

5. Keep my room clean(ish)

Ah! But this one I actually did manage! I picked up and cleaned my room much more regularly. Of course it’ s not spotless all the time. One time it didn’t even stay clean for more than a couple of hours. But it’s cleaner, and that’s the important thing!

Success level: 9 out of 10

2016 New Years Resolutions

  1. Write more! At least 5,000 words a week!

2. Get myself a little more fit, eat a little healthier, and complete the workout challenges I started

3. Get my splits and turn out!

4. Study more, especially for the ACT

5. Keep my horses in good working shape and improve them

6. Study more theology and pray a daily rosary

7. Use my time wiser and be more productive

8. And enjoy life, and make it good.

Phew, I cut out a lot for myself! But if you shoot for the star, even if you miss, at least you’ll land on the moon. So have a fantastic New Years Day, and may the next 364 days be just as good!

Leave a Reply

