A-Musing Adventure: The Hermit’s Home Pt 5

A moment later I heard the whoosh of wings and a clitter-clatter on the floor. I looked up to see Muse sitting smugly on top of the cabinet. Then I looked around to see a lot of small, oddly shaped, and colorful blobs advancing on me.

“Uh… you sure this isn’t going to be a repeat of Gulliver’s travels right? You know I want to get unstuck, not more trapped… right??”

“Oh, don’t worry,” Muse said, casually laying his chin on his paws, “you’ll be fine.”

I watched the little paint blobs march into neat rows on either side of the fallen cabinet. My awkward smiley face stood at my head, and with little squeaks and motions begin commanding his army.

The little blobs tried their darndest. Lack of effort was not what failed them, rather, it was a lack of hands and stable bodies. No matter how many times the paint blobs rammed themselves into the cabinet, no matter how coordinated or how hard them pushed, the cabinet remained on top of me. They even tried charging all from one sides, but to no avail.

Muse, meanwhile, sat on the other side of my head, laughing at each new attempt. “This is quite entertaining,” he comment, which only made me groan.

“But I’m still stuck!” I said, “the point is I want to be unstuck!”

Muse just shrugged, “My point is it’s entertaining.”

I turned my head around so I could glare at him better. I contained glaring at him until, then I flicked his ear.

“Can’t you do something?!” I complained.

“Maybe if you ask nicely,” he retorted.

I rolled my eyes, then fixed them on him and made the biggest puppy-dog eyes I could, “Oh my most beautiful and beloved cat, would thou bestow unto me thy noble trust and graciously assist thy humble mistress? Or doest thou forget thy place or origin and she whom presented thee to the world?” I finished off with my nose in the air and a good dose of condensation.

There followed a long moment of intense staring before Muse reluctantly pushed himself up and padded over to my smiley face.

“Hey, have you named this guy yet?” Muse asked on the way over.

“Um… Mr. Smiles?”

Muse shrugged, then started talking to the smiley. At the end of the conversation I couldn’t understand, Muse looked up to the corner where the ceiling curved, “He says there are things up there.”

“What? What kind of things?” I asked, trying – and failing – to turn my head far enough to see properly.

Muse stretched his wings, “No clue.”

“Well…. just don’t die finding out, ok?”

“Yep” he said and bounded away.

Will Muse die? Will she EVER get out from under that confounded cabinet??

Part 4                                                                                                                                                                                    Part 6

4 thoughts on “A-Musing Adventure: The Hermit’s Home Pt 5

  1. Pingback: A-Musing Adventures: The Hermit’s Home Pt 4 | Lost in La-La-Land

  2. I don’t know why I expected some blobs of paint and a glorified, living emoticon to be able to lift a cabinet, but you can’t be disappointed by someone if you don’t let them fail.
    As usual your adventures and your cat’s shenanigans are entertaining. Please go on!

    • I’m so glad! An artist’s greatest pleasure is to know someone finds pleasure in their work.:D

      I think there’s about three more parts to go. Things are about to get interesting, so hang in there!

  3. Pingback: A-Musing Adventures: The Hermit’s Home Pt 6 | Lost in La-La-Land

Leave a Reply

